Lemoore City Council Filing period open

By Ed Martin, Editor

Three seats will be up for grabs in the November 8 Lemoore City Council election. The filing period to run for those seats opens July 18 and closes August 12 according to Lemoore City Clerk Janee Venegas.

The seats up this year belong to Mayor Lois Wynne, as well as councilmembers Edward Neal and Billy Siegel. The only candidate to announce a bid for a council seat is Holly Andrade Blair, who ran unsuccessfully in the 2014 city council elections.

According to Venegas, prospective councilmembers are required to meet with her before pulling the required nomination papers.

Wynne is currently in her first term as a member of the Lemoore Council. She was unexpectedly elected mayor when councilmembers booted the former mayor, Billy Siegel, from his position prior to the end of his regular term.

Neal is completing his first four-year term on the council while Siegel is completing his second four-year term, a period awash in controversy that saw Siegel survive a recall petition early in his second term on the council.

Prospective councilmembers are required to collect at least 30 nominating signatures in order to qualify for the November ballot. 

Comments powered by Disqus